TMBC - A Brief History

On the general recommendation to all bowling clubs in NSW by the State Controlling Body (i.e. RNSWBA), the Turramurra Men’s Bowling Club (later referred to as TMBC &/or Men’s Club) was established under its own constitution to administer men’s bowls. This replaced the previous practice established when the Club was founded in 1952 whereby the Board of the Registered Club also controlled the men’s bowls activities.

The inaugural AGM of the Turramurra Men’s Bowling Club was held on the 25th June 1995 with the office bearers a replica of the board e.g. President, Vice Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer being those elected to the board as Chairman, Deputy and Vice Chairmen, Secretary and Treasurer. Only the Bowls Secretary and his Assistant (title changed to Bowls Administrator 21/10/2000), Delegate to the Upper North Shore District (later merged with the Northern Suburbs District into the Sydney Northern District Bowling Association (Zone 9) INC.), plus the Selectors and two committeemen were elected independently to the Board.

Peter Langford and Bert Farr gave notice at the 6th AGM on 25th June 2000 to put before a Special General Meeting of the Men’s Club a motion to “change the electoral procedure for some positions on the committee”. As a result, and thanks mainly to Keith Galloway and Geoff Hamilton as the driving forces behind a small committee resulting in a comprehensive review of the constitution and bylaws, motions were confirmed at a SGM on 21st October 2000 i.e. that the amended constitution come into effect immediately but with the management committee not be altered until the elections to be held at the year 2001 AGM. The streamlined committee was instrumental in completing a SWOT analysis i.e. Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats covering all aspects of our operations resulting in our Strategic Plan and a vision for the future. Formal policies covering all aspects including match committee matters and selections (both inter-club representative and casual events).

The more direct focus applied to TMBC resulted in almost instant benefits including the introduction of uniforms during 2001 thanks to Terry Gillett and his small committee for the tasteful design of club shirts and jackets. Prior to this time coloured clothing was “not for Turramurra”. In conjunction with the uniforms, a new logo was designed by Andrew Alexander and introduced (and later adopted by the registered club).

The improvement in bowling results was also obvious and cannot be stated much better than as reported in the North Shore Times (late 1991) which was as follows; “Men’s Club of the Year: It was a fabulous year for Turramurra who picked up a plethora of Titles including section Pennants wins in Grades 3 & 5. The Grade 3 Side went on to win the Zone 9 Title before bowing out in the State Play-offs. Turramurra also won the Ku-Ring-Gai Shield for the first time and the Upper North Shore District Club Championship “A” Grade.”

Other major achievements since include the following:

2002 Zone 9 Champion of Club Champions Pairs - Ken Buckman and Graham Bruce.

2002 Ku-ring-gai “Top 10” Shield Champions (back to back titles)

2002 UNSDBA Reserve Five Champions (tiles also won 1999 and 2000)

2002 Winner Cyril South Trophy - Inter Club @ Killara BC

2003 UNSD Fours Champions – Dick Graham, Bill Parry, Bob Hawtree & Barry Garrod

2003 Winner Roseville Shield – Ken Buckman, Bob Hawtree, Tom Lindsay & Geoff Hamilton

2003 Winner Warrawee Invitational Pairs (Clubs each represented by 4 teams over 3 weeks)

2003 Winner Ryde Ex-Services G4/7 – Kevin Stutchbury, Harvey Fuller, John Troy & Bill Pike

2004 Zone 9 Reserve Pairs Champions – Herb Brenner & Kevin Stutchbury

2005 Zone 9 Champion of Club Champion Singles – Ken Wallis

2005, 2006, 2007 & 2009 Ku-ring-gai “Top 10” Shield Champions

2012 Zone 9 Grade 7 Pennant Winner

2012 Zone 9 President’s Reserve Pairs - Warwick Bridge & Bob Abdallah

2012 Winner 51st Dee Why Open Fours - Bob Southam, Herbie Brenner, Geoff Hamilton & Ken Wallis

2013 Zone 9 Reserve Singles Champion – Ced Lewis

2013 Zone 9 Rookie Pairs – Cec Thomson & Dugald Braithwaite

2013 Zone 9 MWT “C” Grade

2013 Ku-ring-gai “Top 10” Shield Champions

2014 Zone 9 Senior Fours – Warwick Bridge, Bryan Popplewell, Bob Hawtree & Ken Wallis

2014 Zone 9 Grade 3 Pennant Winner

2015 Ku-ring-gai “Top 10” Shield Champions

2016 Zone 9 Grade 7 Pennant Winner


Our thanks go to all Men’s Club Office Bearers over the years, and in particular the following for their long service (5 years or more / period in office in brackets) in alphabetical order: Denny Ellis (5), Trevor Davison (8), Ron Dowling (5), Harvey Fuller (7), Gary Galstaun (7), Terry Gillett (7), Geoff Hamilton (17), Peter Langford (7), Geoff Martz (6), Bill Parry (8), Maurice Reeves (5) and Max Wood (6). We also pay tribute to all the selectors over the years for their efforts in achieving the impossible i.e. to please all of the bowlers all of the time.